Manorlands Plate 2016

2015 League champions, Oakworth, runners up, Ingrow St Johns, Wynn Cup winners Bingley Congs and Division Two runners up Denholme, took part in this year’s Manorlands Plate 20/20 competition at Oakworth CC.

In the first game Ingrow St John’s took on Bingley Congs and won handsomely by 57 runs. The Saints batted first and scored a formidable 170-5 led by Fahid Ali (52no) Ronnie Chokununga (48) and Imran Zaman (42) as Matthew Brian had the best bowling of 2-15 off his four overs. The Beckfoot Lane side replied with 118-9 with Tony Leighton making 32 as Azeem Hussain took 3-21.

Denholme tackled plate holders Oakworth in the second game and posted 108-9 in their 20 overs. Toby Priestley (42) and Matt Wear (34) being the leading run scorers as Gareth Marshall claimed 3-6 off 4 miserly overs and Richard Cavender 2-24. The Cure Hill side romped home by 4 wickets with Robert Hollingsworth top scoring with 32 and Adam Smith making 21 as Priestley took 2-11 and Wear 2-17.

The final, played in cool conditions saw Joel Gallagher (36) help the holders to a challenging 142-8 with Sarum Quereshi taking 3-16. The Saints got home by 7 wickets with just 4 balls to spare in an exciting finish. At the halfway stage of their innings they wanted 10+ an over to reach their target. Opener Immy Zaman held things together with 47no helped by Habib Aslam 36 and a quick fire 30no from Nadeem Safdar.

An excellent finish to an excellent day which was all about the League’s efforts to raise money for their chosen charity, Manorlands Hospice. Fixture Secretary, Trevor Coe thanked Oakworth for their tremendous efforts in running the event. The people who prepared the ground, dealt with the refreshments – which had some scrumptious cakes and buns, those on the bar, barbeque and raffle.

Whilst the amount raised is not yet known, it was announced that Ingrow St John’s sponsor, The Taylor Partnership were making a wonderful donation of £1000 for which Mark Taylor, who was at the game, was warmly thanked.

The trophy was presented to winning captain Wasim Hussain by League Secretary, Ann Coe.